CyberGhost VPN Review: the Best Readers’ Choice

CyberGhost VPN

2.44 EUR
9.5

Speed

9.7/10

Privacy

9.4/10

Features

8.9/10

Customer Support

9.7/10

Price

9.6/10

Positive

  • Well-known provider of advertising cooperation of large publishers
  • Many functions that you can use as different options
  • 256 bit encryption over OpenVPN
  • Easy installation and use on devices with apps

Negative

  • Using on a router is not always perfectly resolved

CyberGhost Review 2020

If you look at the CyberGhost website, you will see that you have found a comprehensive VPN. Of course, something is exaggerated here, and we will bring it in our review in the right light (from our point of view). Even so, the service is convincing in many aspects. It has a large number of fans. It has become a companion for many users in their daily lives. New owners continue to invest in good customer service. By the way, ZenMate VPN is meanwhile also owned by this financial investor. Read our CyberGhost VPN review to learn more about the service!

CyberGhost is a service that is an ideal companion for many users, our readers mostly give us only positive reviews, which also makes it one of the favourite providers in the reviews. Of course, CyberGhost has its limitations, but it is still at the top in direct comparison with most later VPN services.

The service promises “anonymity” on the Internet, and also provides users with simple software for almost all devices. This makes the service very suitable for beginners in the subject of VPN and for greater security when surfing the Internet.

Recommended by our readers!

We are in direct contact with our readers every day. CyberGhost was the most popular VPN service among our readers in 2019, and there were no cases when user requests to the CyberGhost support service were not satisfactorily satisfied. This deserves our respect and therefore we would like to give a clear recommendation on the service.

VPNTester Readers’ Opinion

VPNTester beste Leserbewertungen
VPNTester best readers’ Estimate!

CyberGhost VPN review: Company data

The service was launched in Germany, and for some time it was also available directly in electronics stores in Romania. About 3 years ago, the service was sold to Kape Technologies. The technology investor also owns and manages other online services, including the former German VPN service “Zenmate”. Billing continues to be carried out through Romania and, therefore, within the EU, but you are still protected from information requests. The combined companies also affect that the technical aspects can now be solved even more professionally. The site claims to offer “guaranteed anonymity & privacy” to CyberGhost users.

Let’s start with our review!

CyberGhost review: Pricing

CyberGhost tariffs are not so expensive. The price usually depends on what features and how many devices you can use with one user at a time. Existing customers often receive even more discounted tariffs than new customers. It is impossible to use the CyberGhost free but the provider offers a 45-day money-back guarantee.

Streaming with Cyberghost VPN

CyberGhost works well with Netflix! US portals are almost completely accessible, allowing users to bypass geographic blockages. You can stream with the service without any speed reduction.

CyberGhost Review: Downloading and torrent

The proposed VPN protocols follow modern standards and are considered to be “secure.” Torrent users have always doubted how the service protects its data from warnings. The service itself does not allow the use of copyrighted questionable services.

CyberGhost VPN review: Features

CyberGhost VPN Review: the Best Readers' Choice 1In our CyberGhost review, we also tell about special CyberGhost VPN features. This service, like most VPN services, offers free software for use on a variety of devices. If you want to use some external devices, such as routers? You can integrate them using the configuration help on the CyberGhost website.

The functionality of CyberGhost has not changed much since the company was bought by KAPE technologies but several new servers have been added. Also, streaming properties from German platforms abroad have improved . What is less obvious, is the fact that the service will no longer support PPTP and L2TP protocols since 2020. But this is not a security flaw. In addition, we also determined that mobile applications now were consuming significantly less power and were therefore barely noticeable. This is an important point that many could benefit from.

Network

Now the company has over 6000 servers in 90 countries.

The functionality of CyberGhost has not changed since the acquisition of the company. Only a few new servers have appeared in the existing network. “Network” is not quite the right word here: CyberGhost VPN does not manage the network. It generally uses rented ones and sometimes dedicated virtual servers in different places. The servers are centrally managed. The service also regulates that users can only connect to a limited number of servers at a time.

Extra features

Extra features (phishing protection, ad blocking, or virus protection) can be used only in the applications. That means that external devices, such as routers, cannot use these features. Although in reality, this plays a rather secondary role. In the end, such methods are unlikely to be useful in any case from the technical point of view.

Despite the activation of filtering, in our tests for CyberGhost VPN review more than half of all tracking codes on web sites were not filtered. Thus, we could not open some particular sites. This is clear because the service does not allow manual configuration here. So, the degree of filtration is only a technically realizable minimum. It also means that as a result, users cannot open certain web pages. Probably, the reason for it is connected with the VPN service. But, it will be the result of effective filtering, which most users, of course, do not understand.

CyberGhost offers the following extra features:

  • CyberGhost Ad Blocker: removes ads from sites and blogs
  • Removing CyberGhost viruses and malware, blocking malicious websites and downloads
  • Data compression: CyberGhost VPN compresses data before downloading it to your computer. It speeds up your Internet access
  • Online tracking prevention. CyberGhost prevents and blocks content from websites that observe your browser’s behaviour
  • Anonymizing your Internet browser and possible cookies

CyberGhost VPN with VPN routers

As we have already mentioned, to prepare this CyberGhost VPN review, we were also testing the service with ASUS routers. But, we have also found out that the connections were neither fast nor stable enough. You can integrate external devices such as routers via the setup help on the website.  Thus, we do not recommend to use CyberGhost for VPN home routers! Even if you can set up CyberGhost on routers, this is not recommended. In most cases, after a short time, users already get slow connections over it. Or even disconnects which are then always related to the whole network.

Thus, we do not recommend using CyberGhost for use on home VPN routers!

CyberGhost VPN by travelling

CyberGhost VPN review: CyberGhost applications are convenient to view and easy to use, but they do not offer a large number of configuration options, so it happens again and again that CyberGhost users in different countries or hotels simply cannot connect. CyberGhost also does not use any technical measures to provide unhindered access in various environments.

CyberGhost VPN SpeedOnline-Gaming with CyberGhost VPN

CyberGhost is suitable for online games. You can use it on both the PlayStation and the Xbox. Low latency makes games fun.

Maximal Speed

Does CyberGhost fulfil speed requirements?

In our CyberGhost review, we used our speed test. We have installed the service on several different devices. Then we connected them to different locations. It transmitted different data sizes to the nearest test server. Finally, we have detected some blatant deviations. Instead of a possible 150Mbps, we could only reach less than 70 Mbps on average. Even though we have created good VPN service conditions.

We also see the provider’s efforts to focus on customer interests and continuous improvement. Especially the “free version”, which was still available several years ago, mistakenly gave the provider a reputation for slow connections. However, these negative aspects are absent in the premium versions, and the provider’s servers offer very good speed.

Max. speed tested
Download
0
Kbps
Jitter
0
Ms
Ping
0
Ms
Upload
0
Kbps
Germany | 23.02.2020

Customer support

You can get in touch with our Customer Support team via live chat or email. They are available 24/7 and can handle your requests in English, German, French, and Romanian.

Conclusion

We recommend this service. Having installed it, you get a VPN with a nice interface and all necessary features. 24/7 technical support will always answer your questions. Romanian jurisdiction provides you with online security.


Erstellt am: 11/28/2019

Leave a Comment