The new data exchange agreement
Initially, it was assumed that WhatsApp users would have to accept the new rules by February 8, 2021. However, Facebook decided to extend the timeline until May 15, 2021, after massive user discontent and media hype in this connection.
Will Whatsapp accounts be deleted?
Now the answer to this question can be found in the “Security and Privacy” section of the service help centre. WhatsApp advises that accounts will not be deleted immediately.
Here is the most important information:
- If you do not accept the new rules by May 15th, then the functionality of your WhatsApp account will be limited until the changes are accepted. You will be able to receive calls and notifications, but you will not be able to read and send messages in the app.
- Whatsapp users can export their chat history on Android and iPhone platforms, as well as download their account report by May 15, 2021. It is unclear if this feature will be blocked after the due date.
It is possible that WhatsApp will not delete the accounts after all if there is enough negative response.
Erstellt am: 03/16/2021